A meal by any other name

I don’t write jokes.  I don’t think I’d be very good at it.  I find it difficult to be funny on demand.  My sense of humor arises from the fact that the world amuses me.  God has given me one of the greatest gifts imaginable: the ability to look at the world through a humorous lens.  I try always to use my gift for good instead of evil (given the source of the gift).  I love to make people laugh.  However, I’m not always in control of it.

Today, I ate lunch at Chick-Fil-A.  It was a late lunch, so there was nobody in line when I arrived.  My order was taken by a beautiful blonde girl.  After placing my order and paying, we had the following conversation:

Her: What name should I put on this order?

Me: John.  No, wait, that’s my name.  That might be too confusing.  I usually call this meal Lunch.  Will that work?

Her (laughing): I’ll just go with John.

Now understand, one of the great joys of my life is making pretty girls laugh.  On my list of raisons d’etre, this would be in the top three.  (Disclaimer: I do not have an official list of raisons d’etre.)  And I was thrilled that she played along, instead of just staring at me like I had two heads.  But the thing is, I have no idea where that response came from.

Sadly, this story ends on a downbeat note.  When I finished my meal and started out the door, the beautiful blonde did not “just go with John”.  She stayed behind with the remnants of my meal.  Still, I don’t take it as a personal rejection.  I prefer to think that she was just confused by the similarity of our names.

Leave a Reply

