I will have already been going to go

I am a sucker for time travel stories. I love the whole idea of alternate possibilities, and I’ve never been able to figure out why they confuse so many people. I still remember movie reviews complaining that “Back to the Future 2” was hard to follow. But I suppose this speaks to the kind of people who review movies for a living.

On the other hand, even I am confused by the timeline of the Eagles’ “Already Gone”. See if you can figure out what’s going on here.

Glenn Frye starts off by claiming that he “heard some people talking just the other day” about how his girl is “going to put me on a shelf”. This implies that he is talking to her in the present about what he heard in the past about what she’s going to do in the future.

However, in the very next verse, he talks about “the letter that you wrote me”, implying not only that he already knew about his imminent shelving, but that the conversation he was eavesdropping on the other day was old news.

And yet his “victory” is that he’s already gone (from the relationship, I assume, since he’s still here having this conversation).

My head hurts.

A few other observations:

1) I have to take her side in this conflict. She at least had the decency to write a letter explaining her side of the story. Glenn just abandoned her without saying anything until she brought it up.

2) According to Glenn, the immediate consequences of his departure are that she’ll have to dine alone this afternoon. And yet, she’s breaking up with him. I doubt that her lack of a lunchtime companion will come as much of a surprise to her. As retribution goes, this is hardly enough to warrant a victory song.

3) I suspect that this girl is one of the ones that want to stone him in the song “Take it Easy”. Can’t really blame her. He is kind of a jerk.

 

Leave a Reply

