We are all individuals, aren’t I?

This happened to me a couple years ago:

I’m at the grocery store, and I walk past this woman: late 20’s, long blonde hair, black coat, very pretty. We’re shopping in different directions, so a couple minutes later I pass her again, and I think to myself, “Wow, she’s really beautiful – much softer facial features, not as old as I first thought.” A couple minutes later I pass her again and thought, “Either my memory or my eyesight is going — she’s beautiful, but no way she’s under 35!”

As I leave the store, there are three blonde women in black coats checking out at three different registers, and yet I saw them as one shape-shifter. I don’t know if I’m relieved or disappointed.  Sure, shapechangers are cool, but the incidence of three unrelated hot blondes in a sample size of one evening grocery store trip just says something really good about the world we live in.

Leave a Reply

