Detente of the sexes

Detente of the sexes

Earlier today I was at Barnes & Noble looking for a TV Guide.  (Disclaimer: I have been reading TV Guide since I was 8. It has a few more characters than General Hospital, but the plot is less ridiculous and much easier to follow.)

As I wandered through the magazine racks, I did a quick walk-by of sections labeled Men’s Interest and Women’s Interest.  Based on the magazine covers alone, I noticed something curious.

Men are interested in the following subjects:

  • Katy Perry
  • Kate Moss
  • Eva Longoria

While women are interested in the following subjects:

  • Taylor Swift
  • Heidi Klum
  • Nicole Kidman

Maybe it’s just me, but it doesn’t really seem like the interests of men and women are that far apart.  Perhaps I could suggest a compromise, something in the general area of:

  • Rihanna
  • Cindy Crawford
  • Scarlett Johansson

Perhaps if we all work together, we could achieve a little harmony.  For the children.  (Disclaimer: I have no earthly clue how this compromise would be “for the children”.  It’s just the kind of thing you say in situations like this.)

One thought on “Detente of the sexes

Leave a Reply

