Morning is broken

Morning is broken

I am not a morning bobolink (above)(Disclaimer: I’m not sure what the AM counterpart of the night owl is, but I’m certain it’s somewhere in the kingfisher/cockatiel/hippogriff family, so I rounded off to bobolink.)

Years ago, a priest friend of mine told me he didn’t like to say Mass at 7:00 in the morning, because he didn’t want to wake up God with all that loud praying.  This is the reason that 7:00AM is called an “ungodly hour”.  I have always taken that to heart.  (Word of advice: Any time a priest tells you what you want to hear, grab it and hold on for dear life, as this almost never happens. Mostly they just go on about forgiveness and repentance and holiness, which are much harder, particularly before breakfast.)

But as I was coming home from church this afternoon, I realized that as a good Catholic catechist, I need to be able to explain these aspects of our faith to my fellow brethren (brethpersons?, people of brether?), particularly those who have been up for a few hours.

So I went to my online Bible, and did a little searching.  Based on my investigation, I have determined that the following phrases appear exactly nowhere in the Old or New Testament:

  • Jesus got up early one morning and said…
  • While it was still dark out, Paul and Timothy set off for…
  • An Angel of the Lord appeared to David and said, “Rise and shine, sleepyhead…”
  • Before he had had his coffee, Moses said to Pharaoh, “Let my people go.”
  • The Kingdom of God is like watching the sun come up…
  • And God said to Noah, “Get a move on!  You’re gonna want to beat the morning rush hour traffic.”
  • Blessed is the early bird, for he shall get more than just a worm.

Just a thought for the day…

2 thoughts on “Morning is broken

  1. To back up your thesis, Proverbs 27:14 says, “He who blesses his friend with a loud voice early in the morning, it will be reckoned a curse to him.”

Leave a comment